UTC Governors 2021/2022

There are Nine governors on the UTC Board, all registered with Companies House.

The Chair (Andrew Christie, 1 Sutherland street SW1V 4LD) is nominated by the Sir Simon Milton Foundation.

There is one Parent Governor, one Staff Governor and the UTC Headteacher is an Ex-officio Governor.

University of Westminster nominated UTC Trustees

Richard Lane (Vice-Chair) - Nominated by the University of Westminster; appointed January 2015

Peter Jordan (Chair of C&S) - Nominated by the University of Westminster; appointed September 2021

Sir Simon Milton Foundation nominated UTC Trustees

Andrew Christie (Chair), Tri-Borough Executive Director for Children’s Services to May 2016; now Commissioner

Duncan Whitfield, Strategic Director of Finance and Governance, Southwark Council

UTC Employer Alliance nominated UTC Trustees

Jeremy Lucas, Qualified Solicitor (retired)

Anna Kennedy, Sustainability Manager for Sir Robert McAlpine Ltd

UTC List of Governors

Also referred to as the Board of Governors.

Ensures clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
Holds the Principal to account for the performance of staff and students.
Oversees financial performance to promote, propriety and value for money.
Appoints the Principal.
Appoints Committees of the Board.

Richard Lane

Employment: Partner, Farrer & Co, LLP. Declared Interests: None.

Andrew Christie

Emloyment: Independent Chair, Lambeth Safeguarding Children Board. Declared Interests: Andrew Christie Consulting, Birmingham Children’s Trust.

Duncan Whitfield

Employment: Strategic Director, Finance and Governance, Southwark Council. Declared Interests: Trustee, Sir Simon Milton Foundation.

Jeremy Lucas

Employment: Retired. Declared Interests: Governor, St Ronan’s, Kent. City of London and Westminster Conservative Association.

Kirsten Smith

Head of Apprenticeships at Network Rail Declared Interests: None.

Peter Jordan

Employment: Marylebone CE Girls School Declared Interests: None.

Julia Mahoney Staff Governor

Employment: Teacher, Sir Simon Milton Westminster UTC. Declared Interests: None.

Nathan Mealor Head of School

Employment: Head of School, Sir Simon Milton Westminster UTC. Declared Interests: None.